Spinning Stories


Laundry talk by cqualmann
August 2, 2009, 5:00 pm
Filed under: Contributions, Laundry Stories, Storytelling, Transcripts

Well I’ve used the launderette here in various different ways.  I’ve done my laundry here a lot and I find it very good because it only takes 45 minutes and it washes very thoroughly.  But at the moment what I’m doing is is doing my laundry at my friend’s house nearby because it’s free to use his machine.  The downside with that is that the cycle takes an hour and a half, an hour and 45 minutes.  But what we do is either I go round and we talk and have a cup of tea for an hour and half and yesterday as my washing was on we spent about half an hour talking about planning issues because we’re both very involved in objecting to planning applications that we think are damaging to the estate.  That’s something we really care about.  And the other hour talking about online dating and whether we could face doing a profile of ourselves or whether speed dating was a better alternative as we’re both single.

The other option that happens when I do my laundry there is that I just take it round and leave it and my friend does it all for me. Basically including folding but… well he does get something out of his as he’s made it quite clear that he fancies me and that this is the closest he’s ever been to get to my underwear.  Something in it for both us.

Transcribed from an interview at the Boundary Estate Community Launderette, August 2009

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

